Red Velvet Cake

I was scheduled to work this weekend and unexpectedly got called off (yay!).  I have been wanting to bake a red velvet cake for quite some time now so I decided this was the perfect time.  And with Valentine’s Day around the corner, this is the perfect festive cake for such occasion.

This was my first time baking a red velvet, and there are countless recipes out there so I took to Pinterest and chose a recipe with the prettiest picture. 🙂

I used this recipe. The cake was moist, however it had too much of a cocoa taste to it.  I prefer my red velvet cake to be on the sweeter side.  I will probably try a different recipe next time.  I used this cream cheese recipe and loved it!  However, I modified the recipe a bit.  Instead of adding 2 cups of powdered sugar I added 3 cups (per one of the reviewers suggestions) and the end result was delightful.

IMG_2542 IMG_2531IMG_2552

Leave a Reply

