Designer Inside Look: Emily Henderson

Epson_Emily-Henderson_Organize-your-thoughts1

Ever wondered how designers create a design plan?  Check out Emily’s amazing and very informative post.  She’s always so transparent about the work she does and is never shy about sharing sources and design tips of the trade.  That is why I love her blog and her work so much.  She continues to dominate the blog and interior design world with her always attainable and fresh designs.

She also wrote this amazing post detailing her early beginnings as a struggling artist/designer, her drive to be the best and how she got to where she’s at now.  As someone who has an interior design background, gave it up to go into a more “secure” career (nursing), and who is trying to keep my dreams alive, this post could not have come at a better time.  It’s always easier to put my ideas, dreams, and aspirations in the back burner and hum along this daily life.  Reading Emily’s words sparked that light inside me, gave me hope that one day I can also make a living being creative.  And because nobody says it better than Emily, these are her exact words:

I guess the point is that no matter what creative field you are in, you can succeed with some good old-fashioned passion and a lot of exposure. You don’t have to be born into it, you don’t have to have been surrounded by it your entire childhood, or even educated in it. You just need those two things. Passion without exposure equals what you see above – a random book of pictures that might lead somewhere but isn’t going to get you the job, and just exposure without real passion can make for a pretty lazy and therefore kinda lifeless creative existence.

I think there are a lot of us out there – the ones that aren’t born and raised in the industry and yet found ourselves here and successful. And when I was in my 20’s still figuring it all out, it was those stories that I clung to – the hope that my lack of exposure wasn’t going to be my demise. It wasn’t

-Emily Henderson

Leave a Reply

