R.I.P Fern

It goes without saying that Fern has seen better days.  I’m convinced that the fern is the new fiddle leaf fig tree, and seeing as that I can’t keep many plants alive I didn’t want to spend the money on a fiddle leaf and then have it die on me a couple months later.  Also, based on the research I did, fiddle leaf’s like a lot of sunlight.  Besides the morning sun that comes into the living room, the house doesn’t really get a lot of sunlight throughout the day.  With that being said, I knew a pretty little fiddle tree was not in my future.

I have always loved the lush and delicate leaves of a fern so I decided to spring for one and put it in the living room.  I even bought a pretty woven basket (not shown) to house the plant.  The plant was doing great all through the Summer and into the Fall.  I misted the leaves religiously to keep them moist, watered it about every other day and it was looking great.  The downward spiral began when we turned on the heat in the house.  I think the air was too dry and leaves started to fall and turn yellow and brown.  I even moved the plant to the bathroom for a few days where the humidity is higher but that didn’t seem to help.

When is it ok to throw the towel in?

DeadFern

Leave a Reply

